What is Divesting?

Divesting is the elimination of investment assets, including stocks, bonds and funds. You can divest from any industry or region. People typically consider divestment when companies they are invested in no longer align with their ethics, morals or values.

Qu’est-ce que le Désinvestissement

Le désinvestissement, c’est l’élimination d’actifs de placement – actions, obligations, fonds d’investissement. C’est choisir de ne plus investir dans un secteur d’activité ou dans une région. Les investisseurs envisagent habituellement le désinvestissement lorsque les entreprises dans lesquelles ils investissent ne correspondent plus à leurs valeurs ou leur éthique.

Le Mouvement de Désinvestissement des Énergies Fossiles

Depuis 2012, le mouvement de désinvestissement des énergies fossiles, qui a démarré sur un campus universitaire, a pris une ampleur mondiale. Ce mouvement invite les gens, entreprises et organismes à retirer leurs investissements dans des entreprises engagées directement dans l’extraction des combustibles fossiles et à investir plutôt dans l’innovation technologique propre, afin d’accélérer l’adoption des énergies renouvelables à travers le monde et, ainsi, contribuer à la lutte contre le changement climatique.

The fossil fuel divestment movement

Since 2012, the fossil fuel divest movement has grown from its college campus roots into a global movement. The movement encourages people and organizations to divest their holdings from companies directly involved in extracting fossil fuels, and in turn, invest in cleantech innovation, with the goal of accelerating the adoption of renewable energy around the world in an attempt to reduce climate change.

Pourquoi Désinvestir?

Les gens qui décident de se détourner des combustibles fossiles viennent grossir les rangs de l’un des mouvements les plus progressistes de notre époque. Aligner ses investissements sur ses valeurs personnelles, réduire son exposition aux risques climatiques et se joindre à un mouvement en pleine expansion de soutien à la transition vers une économie axée sur les énergies propres et une planète bien vivante, voilà pourquoi désinvestir!

Genus Capital et le Mouvement de Défossilisation des Investissements au Canada

Genus a à cœur de créer des solutions novatrices en réponse à l’évolution des besoins et attentes de ses clients.

Au cours des dernières années, un nombre croissant de nos clients investisseurs socialement responsables ont exprimé leur préoccupation au sujet des changements climatiques et des entreprises liées aux énergies fossiles. Nous avons pris le virage qu’exigeait notre mission de nous accorder aux valeurs de nos clients, et avons donc entrepris en 2011 le désinvestissement de notre famille de fonds socialement responsables des sociétés liées aux sables bitumineux.

Puis, nous avons fait le grand saut en 2013 en créant les portefeuilles FossilFree, dont sont totalement exclues toutes les entreprises liées directement à l’extraction, à la transformation et au transport de pétrole, gaz naturel et charbon. 

Au cours de ces trois premières années, nous avons fructueusement désinvesti 225 M$ des énergies fossiles, et donné à nos clients la possibilité de transférer leurs placements dans les secteurs des énergies renouvelables et autres fonds correspondant davantage à leurs valeurs, tout en leur procurant des rendements supérieurs à ceux du marché.

Pourquoi Désinvestir?

Outre qu’il vous permet de choisir vos placements  en accord avec vos valeurs sociales et environnementales, le désinvestissement peut être très avantageux pour un portefeuille de placements. À long terme, en effet, à mesure que s’affirment les effets des changements climatiques et qu’un nombre croissant de gouvernements adoptent des politiques pour juguler la pollution par le carbone, les ressources en carbone que les entreprises d’énergies fossiles comptabilisent actuellement comme des actifs se transformeront peu à peu en passifs.

 

Nombre d’analystes prévoient que les investissements dans les énergies fossiles procureront des rendements de moins en moins performants avec le temps. De fait, il se pourrait que pour respecter les engagements mondiaux en matière de réduction des émissions des quantités notables de réserves de carburant ne puissent être brûlées, ce qui se traduira par une perte de valeur de ces actifs. Les investisseurs qui se détournent des investissements en énergies fossiles réduisent le risque de perte de valeur des actifs de leur portefeuille.

 

Selon la London School of Economics et l’Aperio Group, les entreprises d’énergies fossiles pourraient bien être surévaluées de pas moins de 60 pour cent. Les analystes financiers parlent même de « bulle carbone », qui pourrait éclater tout comme une bulle immobilière.

 

Désinvestir maintenant pour protéger vos actifs dans l’avenir? Et que faire de l’argent désinvesti des sociétés d’énergies fossiles? C’est simple : réinvestir dans les entreprises qui ont emprunté la voie d’un avenir d’énergies propres.

Investisseeurs Désinvestis des Énergies Fossiles

En 2015, le désinvestissement des combustibles fossiles se chiffrait à 2,6 mille milliards de dollars. Municipalités, fondations, églises, universités et particuliers sont de plus en plus nombreux à détourner leurs placements des combustibles fossiles. En voici quelques exemples.

Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates

Ville de San Francisco

Ville de Seattle

Université du Massachusetts

Fonds de la famille Rockefeller

Association médicale canadienne

Fondation David Suzuki

L’Église Unie  du Canada

Wayne Wachell, chef de la direction de Genus Capital

Prêt à vous joindre au mouvement?

Allons-y

Ready to go fossil free?

GET STARTED

JE SUIS UN:

Investisseur
Investisseur
Investisseur Institutionnel
Investisseur Institutionnel
Conseiller Clientèle
Conseiller Clientèle

What is Divesting?

Divesting is the elimination of investment assets, including stocks, bonds and funds. You can divest from any industry or region. People typically consider divestment when companies they are invested in no longer align with their ethics, morals or values.

What is Divesting?

Divesting is the elimination of investment assets, including stocks, bonds and funds. You can divest from any industry or region. People typically consider divestment when companies they are invested in no longer align with their ethics, morals or values.

The fossil fuel divestment movement

Since 2012, the fossil fuel divest movement has grown from its college campus roots into a global movement. The movement encourages people and organizations to divest their holdings from companies directly involved in extracting fossil fuels, and in turn, invest in cleantech innovation, with the goal of accelerating the adoption of renewable energy around the world in an attempt to reduce climate change.

The fossil fuel divestment movement

Since 2012, the fossil fuel divest movement has grown from its college campus roots into a global movement. The movement encourages people and organizations to divest their holdings from companies directly involved in extracting fossil fuels, and in turn, invest in cleantech innovation, with the goal of accelerating the adoption of renewable energy around the world in an attempt to reduce climate change.

Why are People Divesting?

When you divest from fossil fuels, you’re joining one of the most critical progressive movements of our time. You’re also aligning your investments with your values, reducing your exposure to climate risks, and joining a growing movement championing the transition to a clean energy economy and a healthier planet.

Genus Capital’s Hand in the Fossil Free Movement

As a firm, Genus is dedicated to creating innovative solutions that better meet changing client needs.

 

In recent years, our socially responsible investment clients became increasingly concerned about climate change and financing fossil fuel companies. To ensure a better fit with our clients’ values, Genus began divesting from oil sand companies across its Socially Responsible Fund Family in 2011.

 

Then, in our biggest and boldest evolution yet, we created Genus Fossil Free in 2013 by removing all companies directly involved in extracting, processing and transporting oil, gas and coal.

In three years we successfully divested $225 million from fossil fuels, empowering our investors to shift their investments into renewable energy and other funds that better aligned with their values, while delivering returns that beat markets.

Why should you divest?

In addition to aligning your investments with your social and environmental values, divestment can make good financial sense for your portfolio. Over the long term, as the effects of climate change become more apparent, and as more and more governments adopt policies to limit carbon pollution, the carbon resources that fossil fuel companies currently count as assets could shift to liabilities.

 

Many analysts expect fossil fuel investments to underperform in the future. To meet all global carbon reduction commitments, significant fossil fuel reserves may not be burnable, resulting in the stranding of these assets. By divesting, people are reducing the ‘stranded asset’ investment risk from their portfolio.

 

The London School of Economics and the Aperio Group, report that fossil fuel companies may be overvalued by as much as 60 per cent. Financial analysts liken this to a “carbon bubble,” which may burst, much like a housing bubble.

 

Divestment now could protect your assets in the future. But what to do with the money you divest from the fossil fuel companies? Answer: Reinvest in companies leading the way to a clean energy future.

Who has Divested from Fossil Fuels?

By 2015, $2.6 trillion in assets had been divested from fossil fuels as cities, foundations, churches, universities and individuals divested from fossil fuels. This includes:

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

The City of San Francisco

The City of Seattle

University of Massachusetts

Rockefeller Family Fund

Canadian Medical Association

David Suzuki Foundation

United Church of Canada

Wayne Wachell, the CEO of Genus Capital

Ready to go fossil free?

GET STARTED

Ready to go fossil free?

GET STARTED

I AM A:

Individual investor
Individual investor
Institutional investor
Institutional investor
Financial Advisor
Financial Advisor